Create your own Brochure

[Skip to content]

Community Justice Portal
Search our Site
Thursday 26 April 2018

Prison Officer of the Year Finalists Announced

The twenty-four finalists for the Prison Officer of the Year 2008 Awards have been announced.

Now in their seventh year, these prestigious awards honour members of staff who are consistently achieving an exceptional standard of work throughout the Prison Service.

More than six hundred nominations for the eight categories were received, which is over 100 more than last year, making these awards the most competitive yet.

The winner from each category will be announced at the awards ceremony next month, where one overall winner, chosen by Director General Phil Wheatley, will be awarded the acclaimed title of Prison Officer of the Year 2008.

The finalists are:

Working with Young People
Lee Peck - HMP Warren Hill, Eastern
Alan Schofield - HMYOI Werrington, West Midlands
Barry Smith - HMYOI Castington, North East

Suicide Prevention
Tina Mudie - HMP Maidstone, Kent & Sussex
Lynn Stocker - HMP Bedford, Eastern
Wayne Ward - HMP Whatton, East Midlands

Reducing Re-offending
Andrew Haythorne - HMYOI Wetherby, Yorkshire & Humberside

Rachel Pollitt - HMP Wakefield, High Security Estate
Nigel Western - HMP Thorn Cross, North West


Managing Difficult Prisoners
Alan Bocock - HMP Whitemoor, High Security Estate
Andrew Malbon - HMP Stafford, West Midlands
David Wingfield - HMYOI Castington, North East

Phillip Cooper - HMP Frankland, High Security Estate
Neil Storey - HMYOI Lancaster Farms, North West
Steve Waring - HMYOI Portland, South West

Mogamat Abrahams - HMP Belmarsh, High Security Estate
Helen Burr - HMP Littlehey, Eastern
Brenda Hinnell - HMPYOI Lewes, Kent & Sussex
Elaine Roberts - HMP Bullingdon, South Central

Staff Support
Jerry Curtis - HMP Brockhill, West Midlands
Steven Gibson - HMYOI Rochester, Kent & Sussex
Carolyn Sanderson - HMP Acklington, North East

Eileen Knight - IRC Dover, Kent & Sussex
Lakhbir Nahal - HMYOI Stoke Heath, West Midlands
Carol Robinson - HMPYOI Downview, South Central

Lifetime Achievement
Owaine Williams - National Tactical Response Group, Finance & Performance Directorate


© Crown copyright material reproduced with the permission of the Controller of HMSO and the Queen's Printer for Scotland

Date Published:




HM Prison Service